Spending Resources
If a rule tells you to spend a resource, you lose that resource once you spend it. For example, when you spend a Hope on an ability, you clear a Hope that you’ve marked on your character sheet. Similarly, if a bard gives you a Rally Die, when you choose to spend it and add its result to your roll, you lose that die and return it to the other player.
Unless an effect states otherwise, you can’t spend Hope or mark Stress multiple times on the same feature to increase or repeat its effects on the same roll. For example, if a feature says you can “spend a Hope to add 1d6 to the damage roll”, you can’t spend 2 Hope and add 2d6 instead. If a feature says “mark a Stress to gain a +3 bonus to your Spellcast Roll”, you can’t mark 2 Stress and gain a +6 bonus.
However, on an effect like the Guardian’s Hope Feature, which says “Spend 3 Hope to clear 2 Armor Slots”, you can spend 6 Hope to clear 4 Armor Slots, because this effect isn’t applying its bonus to a specific roll—you’re just activating the feature more than once.
Please log in to leave a comment
Comments
There are no comments yet