Rules

Simultaneous and Stacking Effects

Simultaneous and Stacking Effects

If two or more effects can apply to a situation, and the rules don’t tell you which order to apply them in, the player controlling the effects (including the GM) can apply the effects in any order. For example, if one ability lets you spend a Hope to retaliate after an attack, and another ability lets you gain a Hope when you mark a Hit Point, you can decide to gain the Hope first, then spend it to make the attack. Similarly, if you have multiple moves that can trigger in a situation (such as two moves that occur “after a successful attack”), you can use them together and choose in which order to activate them.

If you want to apply two or more effects, they must both be able to successfully resolve to be used together. Otherwise, you must choose which one applies. For example, if you can clear a Stress every time you roll with Fear, and you have an ability that lets you make a roll with Fear into a roll with Hope, you can’t clear a Stress and then change the roll to be with Hope instead of Fear. As always, if there’s any uncertainty, the GM arbitrates how effects apply.

At the GM’s discretion, most effects can stack. For example, if two bards give you a Rally Die, you can spend both of them on the same roll. However, you can’t stack conditions, advantage or disadvantage, or other effects that say you can’t.

Comments

There are no comments yet