Rules

Resolve the Situation

Resolve the Situation

If your total meets or exceeds the Difficulty, the action succeeds —you get what you want. If the total is below the Difficulty, the action fails —you don’t get what you want—but with one exception! As described in the earlier “Duality Dice” section, if your Duality Dice both roll the same number, you critically succeed, even if your total wasn’t enough to meet the Difficulty.

Based on the result of your roll, the GM uses the following guidelines to decide how the narrative moves forward:

On a critical success…

You get what you want and a little extra. You gain a Hope and clear a Stress. If you made an attack roll, you also deal extra damage (see the “Calculating Damage” section).

On a success with Hope…

You pull it off well and get what you want. You gain a Hope.

On a success with Fear…

You get what you want, but it comes with a cost or consequence. The GM gains a Fear.

On a failure with Hope…

Things don’t go to plan. You probably don’t get what you want and there are consequences, but you gain a Hope.

On a failure with Fear…

Things go very badly. You probably don’t get what you want, and a major consequence or complication occurs because of it. The GM gains a Fear.

After you announce the result of your roll, the GM describes what happens next. The “Making Moves” section in chapter 3 provides GM guidance for resolving action rolls and making moves.

Comments

There are no comments yet